Sunday, June 24, 2007

Awards season has begun

Janet Rudolph, The Mistress of Mystery, for Mystery Readers International, released the list of 2007 Macavity Awards nominees. These nominees were published in the previous year, 2006.

P.D. James won the first Macavity in 1987 for Best Novel with her: A Taste of Death; while Faye Kellerman and Marilyn Wallace tied for Best First Novel with Kellerman's The Ritual Bath and Wallace's A Case of Loyalties.
Sue Grafton won the short story award that first year with her The Parker Shotgun.

It is fun to see these names, so familiar now, back when their careers were less established.

Winners of the four categories: Best Mystery Novel, Best First Novel, Best Nonfiction, and Best Short Story, are chosen by members of the Mystery Readers International organization Voting must be completed for this year's winners by September 1. Winners will be announced at the annual convention, Bouchercon, in Alaska later in September.

For a full list of nominees and past nominees and winners, visit Mystery Readers International website.

The name for this award came from the mystery cat of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats).

And if you will notice a previous blog post I made about Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series, you will know why I ache to attend this year's convention -- Diana is a special guest. Plus, the stories I hear about this convention -- what a celebration!

No comments: